2014 Quilt Goals

It’s hard to believe that 2013 is quickly coming to an end.  It was a year full of unexpected change for me and I am definitely looking ahead and planning for a fabulous 2014.  My overarching quilting goal for 2014 is to improve and expand my piecing and quilting skills.  To this end, I have a several objectives and each objective has action steps (did I mention I’m a professor?).

Objective 1:  Participate in activities that will lead to improved piecing skills.

  • Complete paper piecing the 2013 Lucky Stars blocks by the end of January 2014.

    2013 Lucky Stars Block

    2013 Lucky Stars Block

  • Piece the I Heart You pattern (half square triangles) by the end of February 2014.i_heart_you1_pdf
  • Complete piecing the improv curved pieced crib quilt by the end of March 2014.DSC_0074
  • Attend Quilt Show in Paducah in April 2014.
  • Piece two Modern Cross quilts (one for me and one for my mother) from remnants of my grandmother’s clothing by June 2014.

    My inspiration by Run and Sew Quilts - posted with permission

    My inspiration by Run and Sew Quilts – posted with permission

  • Piece a chevron quilt in the fall of 2014.
  • Piece a swoon quilt in the fall of 2014.

swoon_new

  • Complete paper piecing the 2014 Lucky Stars blocks by the end of December 2014.
  • Use scraps to piece crazy blocks throughout the year.
  • Attend at least six meetings of local quilt guild during the year.
  • Other opportunities as they arise throughout the year.

Objective 2.  Participate in activities that will lead to improved piecing skills.

  • Straight line quilt the I Heart You piece by the end of April 2014.
  • Attend in-person and/or online at least three quilting workshops throughout the year.
  • Practice quilting skills on sampler quilts or small projects such as cushions, pouches, potholders etc. monthly.

What are your quilting goals for 2014?  Have you got anything exciting planned?  Linking up with the 2014 New FO Challenge at Cat Patches.

6 thoughts on “2014 Quilt Goals

Leave a Reply

