Memory Quilt

DSC_0005

For Christmas this year, I gave my mother a memory quilt I made from my grandmother’s clothes.  I think it turned out pretty well.  (That’s mom peeping over the quilt.)  I really fretted over this quilt and it took me some time to get started on it.  First, I needed to be in the right frame of mind to handle my precious Nana’s clothes.  Second, I wasn’t sure how to proceed with clothing that was not 100% cotton.  The background fabric came from my stash and was 100% cotton….Kona white, I believe, but Nana’s clothes were a cotton/poly blend.  I decided to prewash my background fabric this time and finally wrestled up the courage to cut into Nana’s clothes.  If I were to repeat this particular quilt, I think I would use a stabilizer on the back of clothing fabric to stiffen them up while working on this project.

Mom was very pleased with the quilt, but I fear she will never use it.  She will most likely keep it wrapped in tissue paper in a box and treasure the memories behind the quilt.  Oh well.

I’ll leave you with a couple more sampler blocks for my very own sampler quilt.  I’m a little disappointed in the log cabin block. There isn’t enough color differentiation in the block to suit me, but I’m not going back on it now.  I would have thought the aqua would have stood out from the white a bit more, but I guess the white is just too fussy.  I look forward to putting these all together soon….only nine more blocks to go.

DSC_0007 DSC_0009

Thanks for visiting today!

One thought on “Memory Quilt

Leave a Reply

